Islamic Teaching

Zakat (Third Pillar Of Islam)


Zakat is one of the five pillars of Islam. Any Muslim who doesn’t consider Zakat as a pillar of Islam is not entitled as a Muslim. It is an obligatory act for the Muslims and it is almsgiving to the needy and the destitute. Zakat is an act of generosity in which the set of percentages from one’s wealth is being deducted to qualify for the Zakat.

To get a more clear explanation of the Zakat, learn Quran online with translation and free yourself from any doubts.

It is equal to 2.5 percent of the person’s total net worth excluding the family expenses and obligations. Also, charity is not highly recommended by Islam, but it is a mandatory job for a financially stable Muslim to fulfill the Islamic obligations.

“And establish prayer and give Zakat, and whatever good you put forward for yourselves – you will find it with Allah.” (2:110, Qur’an)


Zakat is referred to as “purification”, as it purifies one’s heart immensely and cleanses the soul from greed. Zakat is payable on different categories of property including silver, gold, livestock, agriculture, money, and business commodities. Just like the prayer, Zakat is an act of worship. God is fortunate to his believers and those believers help the needy ones.

“On the other hand, Allah directs man to spiritual purity through the act of giving that is represented by a charity that the pious pays as”Zakat “and”Sadakat “ almsgiving, and other financial obligations.”

Who are the Receivers of Zakat?

There are 8 kinds of people or classes that are entitled to Zakat. You can not pay Zakat according to your own rules. Islam has enforced the categories of the people who should be the recipients of zakat. Let’s have a look.

  • Poor; indigents or low-income people.
  • The needy one; someone who requires money urgently.
  • Zakat administrators.
  • Those who are newly converted to Islam and need instant money.
  • The debt-ridden people.
  • In the name of Allah.
  • Wayfarers; these people are travelers, commuting with few or no resources.
  • Slaves or captives.

Alms are for the poor and the needy, and those employed to administer the (funds); for those whose hearts have been (recently) reconciled (to Truth); for those in bondage and in debt; in the cause of Allah; and for the wayfarer: (thus is it) ordained by Allah, and Allah is full of knowledge and wisdom.

Who Has to Pay Zakat?

Those who are required to pay zakat must be:

  • Adult or reached puberty.
  • Muslim and sane.
  • Who has complete ownership of the nisab.

What is Nisab?

A person is liable to pay Zakat if he/she has the amount equivalent to the threshold figure of nisab. It is also called a minimum amount a person must possess in order to get eligible to pay Zakat.

The gold standard of Zakat is 3 ounces of gold (87.48 grams) or equivalent cash. As for the silver standard, it must be 21 ounces of silver (612.36 grams).

Can you Pay Zakat Monthly?

Yes, you can pay Zakat monthly given that it is the same amount generated as after deducting the 2.5% from the entire year. Calculate the amount you need to submit to the Zakat recipients and then simply divide it by 12. In this way, the amount shown will be based on a per month basis.

However, if covid has impacted Quran teaching for kids, e-learning is your way to go and browse through the various Quran channels to get an idea of how it all works.

Rate this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *